City Girl Needs Wellies

Glorious Women

Anyone who frequents Facebook or Twitter (and hopefully those that don’t so much – who are those people??!!) will be aware that today is International Women’s Day. An awesome, annual opportunity to celebrate women and also throw a spotlight on the worlds injustices that particularly impact women. My dream is to be part of a movement that makes the world better for women. It’s why I add my voice to the campaign against page 3. It’s why I stamp my feet and complain in shops when I find a Doctor costume in the boys dressing up section and not the girls (even that there are separate dressing up sections at all). It’s why I rage when I hear that women aren’t able to do what they are best at, most skilled at, simply because they are lacking a certain part of dangly anatomy. It’s why I weep when I read that at least one in every three women around the world has been beaten, coerced into sex, or otherwise abused in her lifetime. It’s not ok. And I will keep joining efforts and trying to find new ways of doing something about it. I may like nothing more than staying in my pj’s until lunchtime, but when it comes to this, I am driven. I am driven because I love women (men too, after all, my favourite person in all the world is a man). Extraordinary women who inspire me and spur me on. Glorious women who are changing the world. I think about them and I think about all the untapped potential. About what the world would look like if every woman was able to live fullness of life. If every woman had a voice. Because this is what women can do…

Me, Lu and Mum. So much love.

I know many amazing women but I am privileged to be related to some of the very best. Today I want to honour them.

My Mum is wise and gracious. She speaks truth into my life and has an incredible way of making the people around her feel valued. She always puts others before herself. My Mum is so much smarter than she gives herself credit for and is able to communicate powerful truths simply. She is fun – so much fun and would think nothing of making herself look a little bit ridiculous to make someone else (especially her Grandchildren) smile. Thank you.

My sister is strong and courageous. She has incredible integrity and will never allow convenience to compromise doing what is right. Lucy actively seeks out truth and weaves those truths into the fabric of her life. She challenges me more than anyone else on earth and inspires me to do better. Thank you.

IMG_0095

My Nana was giving and brave. She dedicated her entire life to love. Loving her family and loving the marginalised. More people than I can count call her ‘Mum,’ ‘Nana’ or ‘Aunty.’ In her many years or working with the poor, homeless and broken, she never found anyone who she couldn’t love, and love extravagantly. Thank you.

My Grandma was faithful and kind. Grandma never got cross and never complained. Grandma was so so proud of her family and revealed the best of us to ourselves and others. Grandma faithfully loved and prayed for anyone who walked across the path of her life, spending hours praying for at least 14 pages worth of names every day, including my own, each day of my life. Thank you.

My Mother-in-law is loyal and generous. Her family means everything to her and she would do anything for any one of us. Her loving presence in each of our lives in guaranteed. She is a gifted leader with natural authority. When Daphne speaks, people listen yet she is incredibly humble and gracious. Thank you.

My sister-in-law is courageous and hard-working. She has not only coped with heartbreaking adversity but has thrived. Bekah gives herself to so many people and so many things but still manages to be an incredible wife and Mother. She is a skilled communicator, breaking down barriers with her warmth and humour. Thank you.

And this is not it. Not by any means. My aunties, cousins, another sister-in-law, daughter and nieces all deserve an honourable mention. I am who I am in part because of all of them. And I will continue to become more than I am because of their influence in my life.

Thank you, thank you, you Glorious Women.

I’m linking up with the brilliant Lulastic.co.uk for International Womens Day.

iwd-blog-link-up

This entry was published on March 8, 2013 at 10:19 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Glorious Women

  1. This is such a beautiful piece of writing Jo. Haven’t we had such an incredible number of strong, amazing women in our lives.
    You are a direct result, full of all the grace, strength, eloquence they passed on.
    Pllllleeeease blog more.
    Thank you for linking up! x

  2. Yes, please blog more! 🙂

  3. Natalie on said:

    Lovely post!

  4. jojot on said:

    Reblogged this on City Girl Needs Wellies and commented:

    I wrote this over a year ago but it still says everything I want to say about
    the most inspirational mothers in my life.

Leave a Reply

