City Girl Needs Wellies

One week

So. I’ve been a country girl for a week now. I’ve even worn my wellies 4 times. It’s been very lovely and quite hard all at the same time.

The Hard Things – Our little house isn’t ready for us yet so we’re living with the in-laws. They are completely brilliant but managing 3 tinies in someone elses (very nice) house is difficult no matter how tolerant those someone elses are.

I miss my friends. Most weeks I see my sister and my darling niece and my best childhood bud. Not sending little texts saying ‘what can you hang out this week?’ hurt a bit.

I was beyond gutted to miss being part of a conversation with a great bunch of women on Saturday in London. I’ve been really sick this week and I also had other commitments this weekend so when something had to give, the distance meant that was what went……… This was really difficult, but I think that’s a whole other blog post. Keep your eyes out if you’re interested!

The Lovely Things – It is so beautiful here. Everytime I go anywhere I’m blown away by just how stunning it is and that I live here. It really is amazing.

Steve is very happy. Happy as a pig in the proverbial. He seems lighter as a person and it is really quite nice to be able to watch the person you love settle into an environment they love.

We’ve had some lovely adventures and all from our back door. Big walks, tree climbs, a bonfire, treasure hunts and bear hunts. I’m loving watching our tinies make the most of the space they have to roam and explore.

So, in a nutshell, it’s mixed but positive. I feel a bit sad but excited too. I’ll keep you posted but, I think we’re gonna like it here.

This entry was published on March 11, 2012 at 9:08 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “One week

  1. Don’t know why, but reading this made me all watery eyed. I think that in part it’s because I know how hard it is to move ‘far far away’ but also, because you sound at peace through your writing… content….happy 🙂 xx

    • I’m watery eyed alot at the mo. What a bundle of emotions I am. I am comfortable with the decision we’ve made and that’s a good place to be.

  2. Jan miles on said:

    Hi Jo

    V interesting reading about your move. How exciting. Can appreciate that it must also be hard. Always a trade off it seems, but big respect – to you all. Lots of lOve. Jan

    • Thanks Jan. There is always a trade off eh? But hopefully the lovely things will quickly outnumber the hard. Love to you and yours x

  3. Hooray, you’re blogging! Looking forward to hearing about all your adventures in the countryside. xx

Leave a Reply

